• BCCI announced appointment of Junior Selection Committee members
  • Former Tamil Nadu captain Mr Sharath Sridharan will head the committee
  • Sharath was first-ever Tamil Nadu cricketer to play 100 Ranji Trophy games

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Friday announced the appointment of the five-membered All-India Junior Selection Committee. Sharath Sridharan (South Zone) will head the committee with Pathik Patel (West Zone), Ranadeb Bose (East Zone), Kishan Mohan (North Zone) and Harvinder Singh Sodhi (Central Zone) being the other appointments in the committee.

Sharath, who has also played for Assam, was the first-ever Tamil Nadu cricketer to play 100 Ranji Trophy games for the state and in his 15-year-career, scored 8700 runs from 139 games with 27 hundreds and an average of 51-plus .

It is widely believed that he missed out on a Test cap as his career coincided with the likes of Rahul Dravid, VVS Laxman and Sourav Ganguly.

Harvinder Singh Sodhi, a lanky medium-fast bowling all-rounder from Madhya Pradesh, has played 76 games and has 2000 plus runs and 174 wickets in his kitty and was also a BCCI match referee. Krishnan Mohan represented Punjab as a batting all-rounder in 45 matches between 1987-1995. Ranadeb Bose, who had toured with the Indian team during the 2007 series in England, has played 91 first-class games and has 317 wickets.

The previous committee headed by Ashish Kapoor (South) also had Debasish Mohanty (East, now senior selector), Gyanendra Pandey (central), Rakesh Parikh (west) and Amit Sharma (north).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *