Senior Bharatiya Janata Party leader and former Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis hailed his party’s victory in Nagpur and Akola in the state legislative council elections. The polls were held on December 10.

“Both these victories are special & results of hard work of every karyakarta. With these victories from Nagpur & Akola by great margins, once again, @BJP4Maharashtra proves its mettle in these #MLCElections,” Fadnavis tweeted on Tuesday.

The BJP won 4 out of 6 seats in the Maharashtra Vidhan Parishad, Fadnavis said.

Chandrashekhar Bawankule from BJP won the election from Nagpur. Bawankule is believed to be from the faction opposing Fadnavis.

Here, the Maha Vikas Aghadi suffered a big setback because the Congress, just a day before the election, removed the pre-decided candidate and extended support to an independent.

In the Akola Legislative Council elections, too, the BJP wrested the seat from the Shiv Sena.


India today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.