The government on Saturday appointed Lt Gen Bipin Rawat (currently serving as the vice chief) as the next army chief, superseding two seniormost commanders — Eastern Army Commander Lt Gen Praveen Bakshi and Southern Army Commander Lt Gen PM Hariz.

The government tonight also appointed Air Marshal BS Dhanoa, the Vice Chief of the Indian Air Force, as the next Chief. Air Marshal Dhanoa is a fighter pilot who commanded a fighter squadron during the Kargil conflict and undertook multiple night sorties in the mountains.

The Union Defence Ministry spokesperson announced the two appointments on Twitter.

Both Rawat and Dhanoa will assume office from December 31.

While Lt Gen Rawat will take over from General Dalbir Singh, Air Marshal Dhanoa will replace IAF chief Arup Raha.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *