The Opposition MPs, who have been suspended from the Rajya Sabha in the last two days over their “misconduct”, have decided to do a relay protest at the Gandhi statue outside Parliament.

The MPs said they will take turns to sit in the protest for the next 50 hours till 1 pm on Friday.

It has been decided that at a given time, a group of four MPs will protest. TMC, DMK and TRS have joined the roster that has been made.

The decision by the MPs comes two weeks after the Rajya Sabha Secretariat, in a circular, said that demonstrations, protests, dharnas, fast or religious ceremonies can no longer be held in the precincts of Parliament House. The decision had attracted harsh opposition from the Opposition parties.

On Wednesday, Aam Aadmi Party’s Rajya Sabha MP Sanjay Singh was suspended from the House for the remaining part of the week for his “unruly behaviour” during the Monsoon Session of Parliament.

“AAP MP Sanjay Singh has been suspended from Rajya Sabha for the remaining part of the current week for shouting slogans, tearing papers and throwing them toward the Chair yesterday,” Deputy Chairman Rajya Sabha Harivansh Narayan Singh said.

His suspension comes a day after 19 MPs of Opposition parties, including seven from the TMC, six from the DMK, besides those from the TRS, CPI-M and CPI, were suspended from the House for allegedly jumping into the Well and raising slogans.

The Monsoon Session of Parliament is mostly seeing disruptions and adjournments. Both Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha have failed to carry out any considerable business so far since the Monsoon session began on July 18.


India today