Opposition parties will meet today to discuss the future course of action after 12 MPs were suspended from Rajya Sabha for the rest of the Winter Session on Monday, Mallikarjun Kharge said.

“MPs were suspended against the rules of the House,” Kharge said, adding that “the question of offering an apology doesn’t arise.”

“This action is like strangulating the voice of opposition,” he further said.

The meeting will take place in the office of Mallikarjun Kharge, who is the Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha.


After the suspension of the 12 MPs, Opposition parties released an official statement condemning the action and said that their floor leaders will deliberate on the future course of action.

Congress, DMK, SP, NCP, Shiv Sena, RJD, CPI(M), CPI, IUML, LJD, JDS, MDMK, TRS, AAP are associated with the joint statement issued by the Opposition parties.

The leaders of the Opposition parties unitedly condemn the unwarranted and undemocratic suspension of 12 members in violation of all the Rules of Procedure of Rajya Sabha pertaining to suspension of members for the entire duration of the Winter session,” the joint statement read.


Twelve Opposition MPs were suspended from the Rajya Sabha for the rest of the Winter Session on account of ‘unruly behaviour’ during the Monsoon Session of Parliament.

The official notice said, “This House takes cognisance and strongly condemns the utter disregard to the authority of the Chair, complete abuse of rules of the House persistently thereby wilfully obstructing the business of House through their unprecedented acts of misconduct, contemptuous, unruly and violent behaviour and intentional attacks on security personnel on the last day of 254th Session of Rajya Sabha i.e. August 11.”


India today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.